McDonald's french fries. Image courtesy of cfinke
When you’re on the run, it’s tempting to dash into your local fast food joint and grab yourself a quick bite. But if you’re following a gluten free diet surely your local McDonald’s is off limits?
Not so. There are numerous foods which are gluten free at McDonald’s. (Although we recommend you don’t eat them every day.) Note: these apply to UK McDonalds’s restaurants only.
A McDonald’s hamburger, cheeseburger, Quarter Pounder®, and Big Mac® are all gluten free IF eaten without the bun. All McDonald’s burgers are made with 100% beef; so they’re not ‘beefed up’ with any cereal, rusk or flour.
And according to McDonald’s they’re happy to serve you just the burger minus the bun if you ask your server when ordering. Apparently, they don’t even mind if you bring your own gluten free bun in with you.
- French fries (Note: UK only. It seems that US french fries do have gluten.)
- Potato wedges
- Hash browns
- Fruit bags
- Carrot sticks
- Garden salads
- Cadburys Crunchie McFlurry andDairy Milk McFlurrys are both gluten free
- But Aero McFlurrys are NOT gluten free
- Strawberry sundaes are gluten free
- But toffee sundaes are NOT gluten free
- Regular coffee
- But Cappuccinos are NOT gluten free. (The chocolate chips used contain gluten.)
- Hot chocolate
- Apple juice
- Orange juice
- Soft drinks
- Big Mac sauce
- Heinz Tomato Ketchup
- Spicy tomato salsa
What else to avoid
The obvious things to avoid are buns, wraps and anything in breadcrumbs. Fish fingers, chicken nuggets and onion rings are also off limits.
But if you’re not sure about any ingredients just ask your server. And if they don’t seem sure ask to speak to the manager. Don’t run the risk of being ill over a Filet-O-Fish®
Update: Following on from a number of queries we had regarding the fries, we contacted McDonald’s directly. See this post for their reply.